A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Wowwee wow wow wow

That’s my Christopher Walken impersonation.  It loses a lot when its set down in writing.  Wow is what I actually said out loud tonight as I watched the Tonys – more specifically I said it during Patti Lupone’s performance of Everything’s Coming Up Roses from Gypsy.  I hope you got to see it.  I actually felt lucky to have been able to see it.  Usually, while watching t.v., I feel a vague sense of regret for wasting my time (but oh, don’t get me wrong, I still sit there with my big bag o’ chips and waste time).  Ms. Lupone’s performance made me wish I could get tickets to Gypsy when I go to NYC but after that performance its going to be impossible.  She was phenomenal!  Ethel Merman is probably beside herself in heaven or where ever it is Ms. Merman landed (altho’ I think there probably is a theater heaven and she’s up there belting out show tunes every night).  Watching a performer give the type of performance Ms. Lupone presented is the equivalent of standing in front of Michelangelo’s David – you stand in awe of the mastery, the ability to use the medium with such force and honesty so much so you feel the power emanating from it.  Okay…  sorry, I’m getting carried away.  As a disclaimer I should state, I have a BFA in Theater – Set Design (which I’ve not used professionally – aka I’m a wannabe or better said a neverwas).  

The lowest moment of the show in my opinion came when Tony winner, Tracy Letts made this comment while accepting his award “They did an amazing thing: They decided to produce an American play on Broadway with theater actors.”  Now you know, I will admit I was the first one to cringe in pain when they cast Clay Aiken in Spamalot (I think that is the theatrical equivalent of “jumping the shark.”)  But, that kind of snooty comment about “theater actors” and “American play” is what gives theater that haughty reputation that keeps people away in droves.  The theater has been for the masses since its inception – the Greeks, the Romans, the Elizabethans produced theater works for the common man, not for kings or the elite, but for the rest of us.  An actor is an actor no matter where his stage.  Granted, “movie stars” are not necessarily actors – but they can be.  Its all in the training I suppose.

P.S.: The best ad-lib (Potter-dork alert) of the night came from Richard Griffiths who after Daniel Radcliffe freed his finger from the sticky seal of the envelope quipped “as if my magic” and then went  on with his presentation.  … never mind I guess you had to be there. 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Wowwee wow wow wow

  1. Faith on said:

    Just to surprise you, Clay Aiken actually got great reviews for his stint in Spamalot. Even more surprising is that he has been accepted by the Broadway Community.

    I think they are upset by the casting of Grease with Reality Show Contestants. I know they were dissed big time, during a recent Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS Fundraiser.

  2. Shaman on said:

    “But, that kind of snooty comment about “theater actors” and “American play” is what gives theater that haughty reputation that keeps people away in droves.”

    Can you not see the snootiness in your own comment that preceded the above statement? If you believe that theater is for everyone, is that everyone except those that you don’t know anything about or that you have preconceived opinions about? The guy got great reviews from the critics, including the NY Drama Desk critic. I could understand if he flopped but he was in fact a huge success.

  3. Teresa on said:

    Wow, I loved the Tony’s too, and thought I’d check out what people were saying this morning. I enjoyed the show last night, but unfortunately ended up on the phone for part of it. I agree about Patti Lupone’s performance…. brilliant! I was not impressed with Grease, but that is one of my least favorite shows of all time.

    My degree is in music, and I play in a regional theater pit orchestra as needed, so I guess I’m a “issometimes”. We are currently mid-run of “Into The Woods”, and I think it’s going very well.

    Tracy Letts’ comment could have been offensive to some, as you said, but then you perpetuated the same type of sentiment with your next statement. Prejudgement can be a dangerous thing. I was in NY in March and saw Spamalot during Clay Aiken’s run, and was impressed. Of course I knew he could sing, but had no idea he could act and is very funny. I think I’ll trust Mike Nichol’s judgement in the future.

    My only regret is that I didn’t have a chance to see Young Frankenstein. Maybe on the next trip….

Leave a Reply

