A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Wake up lazy gene

I was sitting there in my jammies around 9 a.m. this morning, remote in one hand, big cup of dark, black steamy coffee in the other when lo’ and behold, I was given a free pass card by the Today Show.  They had a segment on the “lazy gene.”  Here is a link to the Time article that explains it all “Is There a Laziness Gene”.  Studies were done with mice and apparently there is a gene that produces a propensity to a more sedentary lifestyle (in mice, not yet proven in humans but I’d be willing to volunteer to prove it exists).  Apparently, the experiment was done with one group of mice who ran about 8 miles a day on their little treadmills and the other group (my guys) who maybe ran .3 miles a day and some of whom even went so far as to convert their treadmill into a comfy bed or used the treadmill as their toilet area. One mouse used it as a perch from which to take a better look at the sensors that were being used to track her.  This last mouse gives credence to my theory that those of us who are less prone to exercise are smarter (hey, its my theory, if you don’t like it, get your own).  Those of us who sit around and eat chips have more time to ponder the mysteries of the universe, the conundrum of our own mortality and where the dang remote disappeared to… it was right here a second ago.

Anyway, I was inspired to produce my first ACEO card which I will shortly put up on my Etsy site.  (This site explains what an ACEO is http://www.art-cards.org/.)  My card is a one of a kind original pencil drawing entitled “Lazy Gene.”   I sense a series coming on – “The Adventures of Lazy Gene” – it may turn out to be a short series…. I still need to find that remote … and I’m running low on cheesy doodles..

Lazy Gene - Amoonshadow.etsy.com

Lazy Gene - Amoonshadow.etsy.com

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

