A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Always….

Here is another ACEO (see yesterday’s post if you don’t know what they are).  Be warned if you haven’t read Deathly Hallows, read no further.  This small drawing was inspired by a scene in Deathly Hallows where Snape reveals his patronus to Dumbledore – a doe (which apparently was Lily Potter’s patronus).  Dumbledore asks Snape “after all this time” and Snape replies “always.”   I am patiently waiting to hear Alan Rickman’s mellifluous voice pronounce the word.  That one word tells so much about Snape’s character.  Yes, he could be cruel, cold and hard but apparently he was also devoted, loyal and capable of love to the point of altruistically protecting Lily’s son for no earthly gain other than a duty owed to love.  Er, sorry – I get carried away.  Sooner or later  I’ll have to do a whole Harry Potter analysis post here just to get it out of my system.  Anyway, this is an original ink and pencil drawing.  If you’d like to visit my etsy store the portkey is the drawing.

Here’s a link, if you adore Mr. Rickman’s wonderful voice as much as I do, of him reading Shakespeare’s Sonnet 130.  By the way I’m starting a one woman campaign to urge Alan Rickman do more poetry recordings – starting with John Donne’s Song –  Go and Catch a Falling Star.  Such a beautiful, fun and yet cynical poem.

Go and catch a falling star,
Get with child a mandrake root,
Tell me where all past years are,
Or who cleft the devil’s foot,
Teach me to hear mermaids singing,
Or to keep off envy’s stinging,
And find
What wind
Serves to advance an honest mind. 

If thou be’st born to strange sights,
Things invisible to see,
Ride ten thousand days and nights,
Till age snow white hairs on thee,
Thou, when thou return’st, wilt tell me,
All strange wonders that befell thee,
And swear,
No where
Lives a woman true and fair. 

If thou find’st one, let me know,
Such a pilgrimage were sweet;
Yet do not, I would not go,
Though at next door we might meet,
Though she were true, when you met her,
And last, till you write your letter,
Yet she
Will be

False, ere I come, to two, or three.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Always….

  1. I think that’s a great idea (about having rickman read more poems). I’d vote to hear him do a reading of “The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock”

  2. amoonshadow on said:

    Ooh, yes, that would be an excellent choice! We’ll have to get a list of poems going – we’ve got two already.

  3. Pingback: and its for a great cause… « A MoonShadow MoonShadow

  4. Pingback: Alice « A MoonShadow MoonShadow

  5. I myself would love to hear Mr. Rickman read John Donne’s “A Valediction: Forbidding Mourning”

  6. Pingback: My writing is getting less interesting… | A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Leave a Reply

