A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Fairy Tale Ramblings and ACEO’s

I’m finding that working within the ACEO* constraints has reignited my desire to draw. I’ve always drawn. I think every child starts off as an artist and then through lack of encouragement or perhaps too much discouragement children just stop expressing themselves through art. Fortunately, some get that little bit of needed encouragement just at the right time that keeps them working to get better and then there are some of us who are just too stubborn to be discouraged. …. But wait, I digress.. I was saying, I enjoy drawing within the confines of the ACEO dimensions.  Why look, here’s one now…

The Snow Queen

I read all the fairy tale books I could get my hands on as a child from the Blue Fairy Book through the Lilac, the Brothers Grimm, and Hans Christian Andersen.  And as light hearted as Danny Kaye’s film portrayal of Hans was, in re-reading Andersen’s stories as an adult – well, wow – he tackled some serious issues and frightening subject matter in those stories that probably would not be rated acceptable for children in this day and age. Actually, fairy tales are our most ancient stories and carry mythic themes and universal truths … Uh,  but I digress again… I remember this wonderfully illustrated version of the Snow Queen that I checked out of the library as a child.  It was beautiful.  The illustrations were pencil colored, just beautifully blended, something like the style of Jan Brett.   I remember trying to figure out how to blend colors that way.  I wish I had paid attention to the artist’s name but I was probably about 8 or 9 and that didn’t seem as important back then.  The Snow Queen itself is a very creepy story – its available on line if you’d like to read it.  Here is an annotated version:  “The Snow Queen”

If you’d like to see more of my shop, just click (no, not your heels – click on the Snow Queen).  

ACEO stands for “Art Cards, Editions and Originals”. These cards have one main rule – they are 3.5 inches by 2.5 inches – the size of a trading card.

I’ve got the theme song to the Hans Christian Andersen movie going though my head now thanks to that YouTube link above…. be warned its very catchy.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fairy Tale Ramblings and ACEO’s

  1. beautiful rendition!

Leave a Reply

