A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Just so Queen Mab won’t visit me

I thought I’d best feature the third of the ACEO’s I put up at my Etsy store here lest old Queen Mab pay me a visit in my sleep tonight.  My favorite character in Romeo and Juliet was Mercutio (I cried when he died, the heck with that insipid Romeo and dim Juliet).  Mercutio’s Queen Mab speech is the inspiration for this ACEO.  Queen Mab is the fairy spirit that causes you to dream of things you cannot have and generally causes as much mischief as she can manage.

“O, then, I see Queen Mab hath been with you.
She is the fairies’ midwife, and she comes
In shape no bigger than an agate-stone
On the fore-finger of an alderman,
Drawn with a team of little atomies
Over men’s noses as they lie asleep;
Her chariot is an empty hazel-nut
Made by the joiner squirrel or old grub,
Time out o’ mind the fairies’ coachmakers.
Her wagon-spokes made of long spinners’ legs,
The cover of the wings of grasshoppers,
The traces of the smallest spider’s web,
The collars of the moonshine’s watery beams,
Her whip of cricket’s bone, the lash of film,
Her wagoner a small grey-coated gnat,
Not so big as a round little worm
Prick’d from the lazy finger of a maid;
And in this state she gallops night by night

Hmm, that Shakespeare (if that really was his name) fellow really was capable of turning a fine phrase or two.  This speech is another piece I’d like to add to the list of items for Alan Rickman’s recording (not that I’m obsessed about this mind you).  T.S. Eliot’s The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock was suggested by Purrperfect – an excellent choice! Soon we’ll have enough for a whole CD.  That’s right … I live in a fantasy world … I’ll stop, for now.   You can go about you’re business now.

P.S.:  You can read the entire speech here:  Queen Mab

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Just so Queen Mab won’t visit me

  1. rocketpoweredstuff on said:

    I used Mercutio as a tag in one of my posts and then I clicked on it and stumbled upon this blog. I love Mercutio too! And I have to admit that he’s the only person in the story who made the tragedy a little bit entertaining up until he died and cursed both houses.

  2. amoonshadow on said:

    This post has been getting a lot of hits recently and I’m wondering if there are English papers being written this time of year on Queen Mab? I think Mercutio story needs to be told – much more interesting than R&J’s story.

  3. Pingback: My writing is getting less interesting… | A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Leave a Reply

