A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Avast, ahoy and arrrghh or is that arrrr…

 This Friday be Talk Like a Pirate Day, savvy?  Now to be honest, I don’t much like pirates unless they’re Disney-fied.  Give me a soft hearted, good looking, funny pirate — insert your favorite photo of Johnny Depp here – I’m too tired to look for one) or a blustery old sweetheart of a pirate — insert picture of Peter Ustinov as Blackbeard here, I’m too  –   What?  You’ve never seen Peter Ustinov in Blackbeard’s Ghost?  Do you even know who Peter Ustinov is?  …….. Oh, alright, wait a second while I go scrounge around Google images for a photo … talk amongst yourselves – practice talking like a pirate, matey….

 Okay, I’m back.  Here: 

 Ustinov was much younger than I remember him but then I haven’t seen this film since I was a wee pirate lassie and he probably looked old to me back then.  I do vaguely remember the movie was a lot of fun to watch.  I remember looking up Blackbeard (Edward Teach) in the library after I saw the movie.  Yes, I was geeky from birth.  Back then there was no “internet”  … why in my day, we had to walk through the snow for miles to get to a library and then go through stacks and stacks of books until …. uh, never mind. …. Now I’m exhausted and I’ve forgotten why I started all this …

Oh yeah, talk like a pirate.  Here’s a link to an interesting Slate article that talks about “pirate speak” in the movies (which of course is where we get all our information)  http://www.slate.com/id/2167567 

Git along with ye now, arrrr… I need to practice my pirate speak some more. …. arrr …

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Avast, ahoy and arrrghh or is that arrrr…

  1. OK … I mean arrr . . . this be the thuuurd time I be hearin’ of this pirate speak day. And me, with the jug o’ rum almost empty. Arrrr.

    BTW – I know Peter Ustinov and I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen Blackbeard’s Ghost. I’ll check it out and see if it rings any bells. I’ve always held a special fondness for the character he play in Logan’s Run.

  2. I’ve never seen Blackbeard Ghost, so I have no idea who Peter Ustinov. Looks interesting though. Now I do know Johnny Depp, of course, and find his character hilarious!

  3. And let’s not forget those exotic ‘asian’ pirates in The Swiss Family Robinson…oh, but weren’t they fun?! 😉

Leave a Reply

