A MoonShadow MoonShadow

You don’t have to be a Mia or Sofia…

This is what I love about YouTube.  Things that I thought were lost to me forever reside in little niches and crannies over there.   When I was very young I watched The Flying Nun religiously (I belonged to the Church of Alejandro Rey).  There was a show that came on, I believe before the Flying Nun (maybe afterwards) called The Ugliest Girl in Town.  And for the past 40 years or so, every so often the theme song to that show floats through my head and I feel compelled to sing it.  I used to sound record (this was the sixties children – no VCR’s) the themes to shows and somewhere I still have a reel to reel sound recording of a Flying Nun episode (no not the Harlan Ellison one)* and the  theme to  The Ugliest Girl in Town.  The person who posted this video over at YouTube went me one better, she filmed the beginning and end bits of the show.  I didn’t have a film camera back then.

It was a silly premise and a silly show but it made an impression – its probably why I ended up watching Bosom Buddies too.  …. yes, that’s right I’m a connoisseur of vintage bad t.v. shows – “bad” really is in the eye of the beholder.  

Oh and by the way, you best be readin’ the above in yer pirate voice, or its the plank for ye!  Happy Talk Like a Pirate Day, arrrrrrrr…….

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “You don’t have to be a Mia or Sofia…

  1. *swoon* Bosom Buddies-it’s where my love affir with Tom Hanks began! YouTube clips are addicting, I spent a great deal of last weekend watching Schoolhouse Rock videos-talk about living on the edge!

  2. littlezooofmisfits on said:

    I’m not aware of the shows that you’re talking about, but I have enjoyed finding many clips from shows that I used to watch when I was younger that I’d often find myself thinking about.
    I’ve often found though that shows that I thought were amazing were actually quite bad. haha!

  3. I’ve never heard of that show. I did spend an afternoon using YouTube to indroduce my son to Captain Kangaroo and The Electric Company!

  4. Peter Kastner died on September 18, 2008 in Toronto, Ontario of a heart-attack, leaving second wife Jenny, one stepdaughter and 2 grandsons.

Leave a Reply

