A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Good going Clay!

I wasn’t planning on ever posting anything, ever again, ever, about Clay Aiken.  I had posted something previously which in effect said he, as an entertainer, was not my cup of tea, and I heard for one or two members of the Claynation about it.  Well, now I feel obligated to post this.  He is still not my cup of tea as an entertainer but I have a bit more admiration for him as a human being.  From a CNN article referencing a People magazine story:

….”Yes, I’m Gay.” The cover also has the quote: “I cannot raise a child to lie or hide things.”

* * *

Aiken, who gained fame as the runner-up on “American Idol” in 2003, rarely addressed the frequent rumors about his sexuality. He said two years ago, “I don’t really feel like I have anybody to answer to but myself and God and the people I love.”

Yeah for Clay!  While I whole-heartedly agree that his private life is nobody’s business but his own, and he had no duty to explain his lifestyle to anyone, I applaud him for standing up and being open about who he is if nothing else but  for the sake of his child.  By treating homosexuality like it is something that is wrong and should be hidden, he was doing a disservice to himself and society in general.  Now, if we could only get Ricky Martin to be that honest.  It would make no difference to your fans, Ricky, we’d still live the Vida Loca with you!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

