A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Enough with the lists already….

Since I promised a “best of” movies I’ve seen outside of a movie theater in 2008, I’ll do it, but only half-heartedly.  I’m tired of the categorizing of things and experiences from best to worst that runs rampant at the beginning of each new year.  I keep hearing that the beginning of the new year is a time for reflection and setting goals – shouldn’t that be done all the time and shouldn’t it be done at a time when its natural for you personally rather than en masse at a set moment?  Okay, so I’m a little tired and cranky… what else is new… here goes:

If push comes to shove, I’d have to say the best movie I saw on DVD or TV in the past 12 months would be…. drum roll…. uhm, …… uh…. I got nothing.  To me “best of” means something that immediately comes to mind, that so towered above all others that it stands out immediately.  I saw a lot of films and movies at home this year but right now – zilch, nadita de nada, nothing that I would call the “best.”  

If I had to pick the one thing I saw this year that opened up new avenues of awareness and thought, that introduced me to new concepts and new music to boot, it would have to be the PBS screening on Nova of the BBC made documentary “Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives.”  After seeing that, I went out of my way to find people to talk to about what I had seen, to explore the concepts, to read further about the Everetts, senior and junior, and their life’s work.    When a piece of film has that kind of an impact, perhaps it qualifies as “best.”  Here is what I wrote about the film in my previous entry if you are interested:

https://amoonshadow.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/reality-hangs-by-a-thread/

As for art and books, I saw and read some wonderful examples of each but I won’t demean them by classifying them as worst or best.   Alright, I grow weary of contradicting myself and all this self-righteous indignation at a question I posed for myself in the first place — I’m taking my cranky self away from the computer and off to do something constructive – like watching the Twilight Zone marathon on the Sci-Fi Channel.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

