A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Who cares what games we choose….

Little to win but nothing to lose.  Those lyrics have been rattling around my head.  They even pushed the Eels right off their perch on my frontal lobe.  Those lyrics originate from “Incense and Peppermints” by the Strawberry Alarm Clock.  They were the only lyrics I rememebered of the song (except of course for “incense and peppermints”) – I was a wee, wee lass in 1967 when this song came out  (wipe that smirk off your face, I was a wee, wee lass).  Anyway, in searching for the lyrics of the song – I found some very weird variations on the words.  This is what I think the lyrics probably are:

Good sense, innocence, cripplin’ mankind
Dead kings, many things I can’t define
Occasions, persuasions clutter your mind
Incense and peppermints, the color of time.

Not the deepest or most grammatically correct but what I assume the true lyrics to the song are.  Below is another version of the same verse from another website that will remain nameless (I don’t want to embarrass them):

Good sense, innocence, cripplin’ and kind.
Dead kings, many things I can’t define.
Oh Cajun spice, sweats and blushers your mind.
Incense and peppermints, the color of thyme.

There is a certain poetic quality to “cripplin’ and kind” but “Oh Cajun spice?”  Really? It never occurred to anyone that those might not be the lyrics?  All the different lyric sites agree on the words to this part though:

Who cares what games we choose?
Little to win, but nothing to lose.

Here  – take a listen for yourself.  I’ve put in the YouTube version that’s straight off of the record (that’s that black thing going round and round) with the original lead vocals by Greg Mumford. He only sang with the Strawberry Alarm Clock for this one time and never performed it with them again (at least that’s what I read here –  I wouldn’t know first hand because I was a wee, wee lass when all this was occurring…..)

Just goes to show you – don’t take every thing you find out there as being correct.  You need to do a little work to get at what is true.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

