A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Is it me?

Perhaps my judgment with regard to the new Eels video is clouded by age, high expectations or maybe I’m just way too uncool.  Take a look at the new video first – I can’t embed it – you’ll have to go here if you’re interested Fresh Blood Video

I understand what is being attempted and I like the bit of humor – I get the werewolf references, and the Jack the Ripper undertones (with a smattering of Lucha Libre and the slight “Touch of Evil”  feel) but ultimately my total reaction was – feh.  I like the song but at first viewing the video seemed just amateurish. 

I researched the talent behind the making of the video – and its Jesse Dylan – an accomplished filmmaker (and son of Bob).  

So, I must therefore come to the conclusion that its me, not them.  How can I question the judgment of Dylan and Everett in giving us this ruby-toned jewel of a video?  Its just not my cup of tea – particularly the bikini swim scene (reminiscent of Flyswatter doncha think) – but I am most likely not the demographic they’re aiming at. 

I’m buying Hombre Lobo when it comes out because I think I’ll enjoy the music.  The videos to the songs… well, perhaps we could get more imagery like we got in Tremendous Dynamite in the next  one.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

