A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Save it… for de end…

I loved  Dom DeLuise.  He passed away yesterday, May 4, 2009.  The first I ever saw of Dom was his bit as the magician, Dominick the Great.  It was wonderful.  I loved the skits he would do with Ruth Buzzi as his assistant, Shakundula (or Shagundula, not sure how to spell it).  I went looking for a picture of them together but couldn’t find it.  If you should find a photo or video of them together drop me a comment and let me know please.  I think I probably saw them perform on the old Hollywood Palace show on ABC.  Dom would perform as a bumbling magician with a thick Italian accent and when the audience applauded he would say “Save it for de end.”  So here is the applause we’ve been saving up for you sir.  Thank you Mr. DeLuise for making us laugh, one of the greatest gifts anyone can give.  Here is a clip of  him and another childhood idol of mine, Dean Martin – what can I say I have thing for Italians I guess (but then who doesn’t):

You know I just realized why I found Fabio’s accent from Top Chef so endearing – it was Dom DeLuise’s accent as Dominick the Great!  You don’t have to watch the whole thing below – but it will give you a sense of the accent similarity.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Save it… for de end…

  1. In May, 2009, I wrote a column about Dom DeLuise and his passing in The Examiner. I looked in vain then for a video of Dom and Ruth Buzzy doing the Shagundala bit but so far haven’t found one. If anyone does, please let me know.

    Here is the link to my column about Dom. http://www.examiner.net/lifestyle/x1993048655/Remembering-Dom-DeLuise-R-I-P

    Thanks,
    Kay Hoflander

Leave a Reply

