A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Your second chance

For those who didn’t get a chance to see the documentary Parallel Words, Parallel Lives on PBS’ Nova last fall when it first aired, well, here is your second chance.  I  highly recommend your viewing this extraordinary documentary.  I’m not sure how much weight my recommendation carries since you most probably don’t know me personally (and you should be thankful for that).  The documentary  provides insight into the quantum mechanics theory of many worlds proffered by Hugh Everett …  mind-blowing particularly for pea brains such as myself (let me provide Exhibit A as to my pea-brain-ness: I am the creator of this CLICK HERE).  It  also provides an introduction into the music of Mark Oliver Everett (aka The Eels, aka Mr. E) not quite mind-blowing but certainly soul-blowing (or at least providing Novocaine for the Soul). His music has taken up residence in my pea brain since I saw this Nova episode.  Here is a link to my previous review of the documentary REALITY HANGS BY A THREAD.  

Check your local PBS listings for Nova for air times –

Nova
Season 35, Episode 13 of 18 :  Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives 

Mark Oliver Everett, better known as E, is the lead singer of U.S. cult band the EELS. What most of his fans don’t know is that Mark’s father, Hugh Everett III, was one of America’s top quantum physicists. In 1957, Hugh Everett came up with a revolutionary theory that predicted the existence of parallel universes. The idea quickly seeped into popular culture, but only recently has it been accepted by mainstream physicists. The film follows the wry and charismatic Mark, who had been estranged from his father, as he travels across America to learn about the father he never knew. It is only by entering the paradoxical world of quantum mechanics that Mark can hope to understand why he was such a stranger to his own father

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Your second chance

  1. Pingback: Daily News About Science : A few links about Science - Monday, 18 May 2009 22:23

  2. Thanks… for info

  3. Pingback: Hugh Everett

  4. smilingldsgirl on said:

    I loved the documentary. In fact, I just got around to doing a review of it on my blog. Science is definitely not my strength, but I thought they did a good job explaining the complex concepts. The connections between the father and son were fascinating. It made me look at my own relationships more carefully to see what I might be missing.

Leave a Reply

