A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Is it hot in here or is it just me?

Let me preface all this by saying that soon I will be doing something completely frivolous and downright foolish.  I’m going to New York City to see Nathan Lane and Bill Irwin perform Waiting for Godot on Broadway – and I’m staying at the Algonquin to boot!  We’ll prove once and for all that men don’t make passes at girls who were glasses, Ms. Parker.   How am I paying for all of this you ask?  Well on my credit card of course!  This is my splurge for the year.  I’m only going for a few days and I got some excellent deals.  Now I tell you this not to make you jealous, not so you can tsk, tsk my foolish ways but to set the scene of what happened today.  My air conditioning which has worked marvelously for five years has out of the blue stopped working.  It weakly blows tepid air.  Not a big deal if you live in oh say, Seattle.  But in the Arizona desert, in late June, when the monsoons are gathering steam but have not quite landed (which means its not a dry heat anymore and 100 degrees feels like 120 degrees) its a problem.  As I sit here with sweat dripping into my eyes, I can see the humor of the situation.  It’ll get the air repaired eventually but first I’ll go to NYC.  In the meantime as I sat sweltering tonight, I remembered the Ancient Egyptians.  No, the heat has not completely addled my brain.  The Ancient Egyptians would put fragranced cones of fat on their heads so that as the heat from the bodies rose, the cones would melt and I imagine, cool them off while providing perfume to mask the other odors that arise with body heat.  I modified the idea (didn’t have a cone of fragranced fat laying about).  I grabbed an ice cube and put in on my head to melt while I watched Iron Chef America.  Not quite the same as having perfumed fat dripping down your head but all in all rather refreshing….

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Is it hot in here or is it just me?

  1. Did you go? Splurging on a show with great actors can never be foolish. 🙂 Do update on how the Algonquin was 🙂

Leave a Reply

