A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Fall beckons….

Yes its still 103 degrees outside and everything is parched and blanched, but inside I’ve decided its autumn.  Smell that?  The ever so slight scents of cinnamon and dried eucalyptus wafting by on the early morning breeze – craft season is afoot!!  In my head its October.  Its time to get creative and start making things.  This year I’ve decided to work on fairy items so I spent the weekend making a big old batch of fairy and wizard soaps and  fairy crayons….

I made my own mold using Amazing Mold Putty and have been experimenting with different ways of melting the crayons.  It is really a labor intensive process.  It takes at least 3 full crayons per one fairy crayon.  Peeling the paper is the first step.  Not as easy as it sounds.  I have found slitting the paper with a knife or razor blade speeds up the peeling process tremendously.  I also am using only Crayola, made in the USA crayons.  My first attempt at melting crayons I used some generic crayons, made in Thailand.  I found after taking the paper off of 60 some crayons that my fingertips were tingly.  After that, just to be on the safe side, I went with Crayola and my fingertips aren’t tingly anymore.

I tried various ways of melting the crayons but finally settled on a double boiler method with a Wilton bottle made for melting candy to be used in molding and a pair of tongs. The microwave is faster but a little dicey.  I was able to create five molds from two packets of the Mold Putty.  This stuff is a bit expensive and there were a few not so good molds that got tossed. The volume of crayons produced at any one time is very small.  Each fairy crayon ends up looking slightly different due to colors used, drying times and pouring.  Click on the picture to go to my Etsy shop.  I’m not sure how many of these I will make for the lure of faux-fall and other projects beckons*…..

*And to show you how easily I get distracted – did you know that origin of the word “beckon” —  ORIGIN Old English bīecnan, bēcnan; related to beacon …. makes me think of a far off point of light in the hills at night, calling you to come see…. kind of like fairies luring you in…..

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fall beckons….

  1. OH, I have been making crayons too. Using a candy mold. They are train crayons for the Depot where the Historical Association meets. I am a member and there’s a little gift shop there. I thought I could make the crayons pretty fast. Ha! As you know, it takes forever!

    I use vienna sausages cans and set 5 of them in the boiling water. I use togs to lift and pour them. I set the mold in the refrigerator. Speeds up the process.

    If you’d like to know what I use to protect them/ pkackage them in, send me a convo at my etsy shop. I can send you a picture.

    Thanks for posting on my Blog Blast thread!

    http://christiecottage.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

