A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Be Aware

“If you don’t have enough evidence to charge someone criminally but you think he’s illegal, we can make him disappear.” Those chilling words were spoken by James Pendergraph, then executive director of Immigration and Customs Enforcement’s (ICE) Office of State and Local Coordination…”

I know I usually post lighter fare than this on the blog, but when I heard this and then subsequently read the The Nation article, it scared me.  Really scared me – not oh, oh, cover my eyes scared me but down to the bone, shudder scared me.  I’m going to provide you the link to the audio story and the written one and I ask you to please read or listen.

Audio:  Latino USA (scroll down to Office Park Gulag)

Full Article:  ICE Detention (I recommend reading the whole article)

This is about ICE detaining people in secret jails, with no due process on the suspicion that they might be illegal.  No one is notified. People can simply be made to disappear. And don’t think, this only happens to illegals so eh, who cares – 1) you should care that this is being done to any human being and 2) its happening to U.S. citizens.  While the problem here is nascent, if we as a country are made aware of it now, perhaps it won’t grow into the disease that spread through countries like Argentina and Chile.  The light of public scrutiny can help keep the government on the straight and narrow.    In Argentina there are mothers and grandmothers who after 30 years still wear white kerchiefs on their heads, congregate in the Plaza de Mayo and ask to know what happened to their children.

So, uhm, if I should happen to disappear, some one will know where to start looking…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

