A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Swim I say!

I just had my first swim class. It was a perfect day in the desert for it – a blanket of grey clouds, occasional light rain, temperature in the mid to high 70s. Watching my niece and nephew learn to swim these past few years inspired me to take the class. While I can doggy paddle and get across the pool, I want to learn how to do what they do so effortlessly. Getting into a swimsuit and going out in public was the biggest hurdle. I’ve lost a little bit of weight recently so I no longer look as much as I used to like my Slavic ancestors vacationing on the coast of the Black Sea. This commercial still cracks me up, even if its not PC —

Eeez next, svimwear

Okay, body image issues aside, just participating in a class for myself is something I’ve not done in over a decade or more and it took a little bit of convincing myself to just do it.  Bravely, I got myself to the pool, put my stuff down and became a female Tommy, i.e., took off my hearing aides and glasses and voila the deaf, dumb and blind girl heads for the water. I found the majority of my classmates were in pretty much the same boat as I am when it comes to swimming experience and we shared the goal of learning to swim sufficiently well enough to do laps. All in all it turned out to be a pretty good experience. I learned or am learning to put my head under water while swimming which may not seem like much but is a huge issue for me — water in the ears aaaaagggghhh! And I got these words of wisdom from the instructor: “you tense up, you sink.” Applies to all life that, …..

That’s class one. We will see how I feel next week. I just hope she doesn’t make us dive. I draw the line at diving – I’m more of an ease my tushy slowly into the pool kind of gal.

In closing, I leave you with a quote from a new hero of mine – 64 year old Diane Nyad who just swam from Cuba to Florida (click text to go to original page):

DIANA NYAD: The thing about aging is, it’s true that the clock seems to be ticking faster as you get older. It isn’t, but it seems to be. Time seems to be running out. And I wanted to swim this endeavor not to just be the athletic record. I wanted it to be a lesson for my life that says, be fully engaged. Be so awake and alert and alive every minute of every waking day, because that’s where I had to be for these fortunately years to get this done.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

